First Annual National Juried Exhibition 2017


A $10,000 award has been presented to the “Best of Show” in the first Annual National Juried Exhibition, (ANJE), at the new Wausau Museum of Contemporary Art. The 1st ANJE featured the works of 43 contemporary artists from across the U.S. who were selected to exhibit from among more than 750 entries.

Alyssa Monks was the Juror of this show. Alyssa sits on the Board of Trustees for the New York Academy of Art and was just recognized as one of the top 30 most influential female artists of our lifetime. Her works are exhibited and collected internationally.

The Annual National Juried Exhibition ran from October 6 through December 29, 2017

$10,000 Best of Show Award

Sponsored by: Derrick Bushman &


“My Mother and her Daughter”
Oil on Canvas
Candice Chovanec – Grand Rapids, MI

$1,000 Second Place Award

Sponsored by:


“Meet me on the Mountaintop”
Joseph Castle – Slovang, CA

$500 Third Place Award

Sponsored by:


“Self Portrait as an Artist”
Oil on Canvas
Esteban Ocampo-Giraldo

Honorable Mention


“Love Is”
Acrylic on Canvas
Carmelo Blandino – Milwaukee, WI

Honorable Mention


“Petri Dish #3”
Mixed Media on Wood
Erin McGee Ferrell – Falmouth, ME

Honorable Mention


“New Guinea TV”
Black & White Photograph
Brian Depue – Hemet, CA

Alyssa Monks participation was made possible by a Community Arts Grant provided by the Community Foundation of North Central Wisconsin, the B.A. & Esther Greenheck Foundation, the Wisconsin Arts Board and community donations from people like you.

Artists exhibited in the 1st ANJE

Nadine Robbins          Esteban Ocampo Giraldo          Candice Chovanec

Jenna Graham           Jack Rosenberg                         Norma Alonzo

Felice House              Shelby Scattergood                   Reid Thorpe

Brian Malloy               Leeanna Chipana                      Ian Kimmerly

Daniel Maidman         Stuart Holland                           Dana Mano-Flank

Erin Milan                   Yiyun Chen                               Nathan Porath

Michael Depue           Misty Hawkins                          Victoria Selbach

Tamie Beldue             Pat Bishop                                Stephen Delaney

Ani Djaferian              Michael Fischerkeller                Meg Aiken

Kate Bae                    Erin McGee Ferrell                   Michael Hallen

Kristin O’Connor         Peter Russom                          Della Nohl

Carmelo Blandino       Erin Anderson                          Tanja Gant

Carrie Baxter              Shaina Craft                             Megan Van Groll

Joseph Castle            David DeCesaris                      Thomas Legaspi

Christopher O’Connor